Oosterveld named inaugural member of Royal Society’s ‘College'

September 16, 2014

Western Law professor Valerie Oosterveld has been named among 91 inaugural members of the Royal Society of Canada’s (RSC) College of New Scholars, Artists and Scientists. Those named to the College represent the emerging generation of scholarly, scientific and artistic leadership in Canada.

Valerie OosterveldThe Royal Society of Canada is the highest recognized membership for scholars in Arts, Humanities and Sciences in our country.

Oosterveld, an Associate Dean at the Faculty of Law, has published widely in the field of international criminal law, in particular on gender issues. Her scholarship has influenced the work of international tribunals, such as the International Criminal Court, and she has been cited by leading scholars in her field. Since joining Western, she has presented more than 60 papers, including to the United Nations Human Rights Council.

"This is a wonderful recognition of Valerie's groundbreaking research," says Western Law Dean Iain Scott. "It's also a reflection of the breadth and depth of leading interdisciplinary scholarship undertaken by faculty at our law school."

Members of the College will address issues of particular concern to new scholars, artists and scientists, for the advancement of understanding and the benefit of society, taking advantage of the interdisciplinary approaches fostered by the establishment of the College.

"This is an important moment in the history of the Royal Society of Canada," said RSC President Graham Bell. "The College is Canada's first national system of multidisciplinary recognition for the emerging generation of leaders." Dr. Bell added, "Together, the members of the College will be in a position to provide guidance on issues of importance to Canadians, and to promote Canadian achievements in the arts, humanities and sciences around the world."

Three other Western professors were also honoured: Daniel Ansari, Department of Psychology, Numerical Cognition Lab; Isaac Luginaah, Department of Geography; and Robert Ventresca, Department of History, King’s University College.

The year’s new scholars were inducted at a ceremony on November 21 in Quebec City.