New Fellowships support faculty research

April 13, 2018

Kate GloverProfessors Kate Glover and Jacob Shelley are the recipients of the inaugural Western Law Dean's Research Fellowships.

The Fellowships, valued at $10,000 each, were established by Dean Erika Chamberlain to enhance the faculty’s research program.

The fellowship opportunity is intended to support and strengthen scholarly research by offering significant financial assistance to researchers at any stage of career and in any area of research related to law. At least one Fellowship per year will be reserved for a pre-tenure faculty member.

“I'm proud to be making this new investment in faculty research,” said Dean Chamberlain. “It will help faculty to expand their research programs and will also help to engage students in the research enterprise.”

Jacob ShelleyProfessors Glover and Shelley were selected after consideration of the applications by the law school's Research Committee led by Associate Dean Valerie Oosterveld.

"We were impressed by their well-conceived research plans, which will take their academic inquiry into new realms over the coming year,” notes Oosterveld.

Both professors will involve JD students in their research in a meaningful way, which will develop the students' knowledge base and provide important career-development opportunities.

Glover will undertake research on the constitutional character of the administrative state in Canada, and the implications of that character for legislative actors, Indigenous governments, administrative decision-makers, and the courts. Over the course of the Fellowship, she will share this research at a series of workshops and in a collection of published articles.

Shelley will pursue research on the link between municipal law and public health. The Fellowship funding will contribute to his research on healthy cities as critical partners in the fight against chronic illnesses, and will be used to inform a grant led by Professor Leia Minaker at the University of Waterloo to be submitted in Fall 2018.